Moneybookers
Subscribe to Daily Scam Alerts | Subscribe by Email | Be a Scam Reporter
Having been a victim of so many scams on the Internet, I don’t immediately click a link on my email message, especially if it involves my online banking accounts. Here is one example I just got this morning.
You’ve got cash
Greetings from moneybookers.com! We would like to inform you that you have received a payment from moneybookers3@mercantrade.com
Payment details
Amount: USD 275.00
ID: 20505502
Subject: You must use the link below to accept the payment.
Note: https://www.moneybookers.com/accept.php?payment_id?=20505502
Your money is waiting for you : https://www.moneybookers.com/accept.php?payment_id?=20505502
As you can see, the link looks like it will go to moneybookers.com, but instead it will go to www.aol.com/ams/clickThruRedirect.adp?1073762100,2147779757×2147568413 and redirected to 88.2.212.130/campistron//www.moneybookers.com/index.html. I have seen something similar to this one and it used google as a redirector.
So I clicked it, knowing this is a scam and check how this goes. The 88.2.212.130/campistron//www.moneybookers.com/index.html looks a lot like a real moneybookers site with a login, password and image verification. Since this page is a fake, I put in a fake email and password, and I got in! The next page is another account verification asking for your birthdate, zip code, credit card type, expiration date, credit card number and the CVV, all the information you need to steal a credit card.
May this be a warning to those who get these kinds on email that involves money to check the actual target of the link.
Update: They also use moneybookers_usd@partypoker.com as sender. so watch out!
Related posts:
- Another Moneybookers Credit Card Theft Attempt
- Navy Federal Credit Union
- National Westminster Bank
- eBay Invoice
- BancorpSouth
- PayPal Inphonic
- Bank Of America
- The State Department Federal Credit Union
- Wells Fargo Bank
- Buzzle E-Card
February 21st, 2007 at 2:29 pm
I just got this too. I’ve never heard of Moneybooker and don’t have an account with them, so my guess is they send it to anyone without bothering whether they really have an account or not.
May 10th, 2007 at 10:00 am
Here is another moneybookers scam email
—————————————-
Payment details
Amount: USD 386.56
ID: 23455643
Subject: You must use the link below to accept the payment.
Note: https://www.moneybookers.com/accept.php?payment_id?=23455643
Dear Sir/Madam,
We are writing you this email in regards to your account with
moneybookers.
In accordance with our terms and conditions, article 3.2., we would like
to kindly ask you to confirm your identity by doing the following:
1. Click the link below and update your account informations by filling the forms.
https://www.moneybookers.com/app/identify.pl
2. Send us copies of following documents:
- personal identification document (identity card or driving license or
international passport)
- a proof of the address submitted with our system (bank account
statement or utility bill)
You can send those scanned to our email address
service@moneybookers.com or faxed to +44 709 204 2001.
With best regards,
your moneybookers team
Moneybookers Security Reminders
Protect Your Password
Moneybookers and its representatives will NEVER ask you to reveal your password. There are NO EXCEPTIONS to this policy. If anyone asks for your password by phone refuse and immediately report this to security@moneybookers.com.
—————————————-
The scam link is http://ks1.ccat.ac.th/www.moneybookers.com/app/index.htm
May 24th, 2007 at 9:15 pm
here is another fake site
http://61-30-78-132.static.tfn.net.tw/~aaa/www.moneybookers.com/app/index.htm
Amount: USD 286.56
ID: 97455643
June 2nd, 2007 at 7:59 am
here is another scam link
http://203.153.35.76/www.moneybookers.com/app/index.htm
June 2nd, 2007 at 8:05 am
this one takes your login info and cc info,watch out!
http://www.mpi.oem.pl/forum/www.moneybookers.com/app/login.pl/index.htm
June 10th, 2007 at 6:49 am
update:
http://mail.snaige.lt/www.moneybookers.com/app/index.htm
June 22nd, 2007 at 6:27 pm
here is another one http://www.dashaus.es/www.moneybookers.com/app/index.htm
July 5th, 2007 at 8:48 pm
here is another one http://ffg194.internetdsl.tpnet.pl/www.moneybookers.com/app/login.pl/index.htm
with id number 87455643
July 5th, 2007 at 9:40 pm
here is another
http://www.harley-davidson.com.mx/moneybookers/app/index.htm
ID: 23455643
July 5th, 2007 at 9:46 pm
http://thoriqat-abjad.net/~test/www.moneybookers.com/app/login.pl/index.htm
ID: 79455643
July 13th, 2007 at 11:32 pm
here is another
http://tomsmix.com/a.html
August 4th, 2007 at 8:29 am
http://supercena.biz/a.html
August 11th, 2007 at 5:13 pm
http://info.politist.ro/
September 3rd, 2007 at 10:57 pm
Amount: USD 523.82
ID: 21583130
Subject: You must use the link below to accept the payment.
Note: https://www.moneybookers.com/accept.php?payment_id?=21583130
scam link is http://exchange.pbsfbs.com/
September 9th, 2007 at 6:04 pm
http://www.moneybookers-profile.com/directory.php?cmd=login
September 16th, 2007 at 11:37 am
http://210.206.177.214/moneybookers/ is another phishing site
November 27th, 2007 at 9:57 pm
http://61.251.189.116:2323/www.moneybookers.com/
December 15th, 2007 at 2:10 pm
Amount: USD 523.82
ID: 21583130
Subject: You must use the link below to accept the payment.
Note: http://61.60.33.122:3232/app/login.pl/
December 15th, 2007 at 2:11 pm
Amount: USD 296.56
ID: 985445872
Subject: You must use the link below to accept the payment.
Note: http://65.254.53.134/error/app/login.pl/index.htm
March 5th, 2008 at 10:34 am
i would leave my email but im to scared so this is the guys email that i think is trying to scam me